Should I give up? A mentor for young girls

• Hi,

Thank you for this space. A little introduction about myself, my name is Gisela, I live in London, I’ve a bachelor’s in computer science, my master’s in computer science and currently I work as a full time python developer here in London.

The reason why I’m writing… 8 months ago I joined as a volunteer for a coder dojo in West London, teaching python, and this is run once a month. When I joined I immediately noticed how few girls the where, only 2 of a group of 20-30. Also all the python mentors where men, except for myself. I also noticed that the girls weren’t getting as much attention because they maybe weren’t so vocal asking for it.

After a session or two I decided to start a girls table, where I’m the mentor, to try to create an environment were they could feel welcomed and encouraged. The kids didn’t have much material so I started to prepare tailored material every month to adapt to the different levels and ages. The number of girls started to steadily grow. Now in a bad day we have 4 and in a good day 7-8. I know 4-7 in a group of 30 is still bad but I think we are doing some progress from where we started 8 sessions ago.